Ohio Democratic Party Statement on Historic Wins for LGBT Candidates

COLUMBUS – The Ohio Democratic Party released the following statement recognizing historic wins for LGBT Democrats in the 2015 election.

“This week was a historic one for Ohio, as the village of Golf Manor in Hamilton County has elected Councilman Ron Hirth as the state’s first openly LGBT mayor,” said Brian Endicott, president of the Stonewall Democrats of Central Ohio. “In addition, in Columbus we were proud to help re-elect Mary Jo Hudson to the Columbus Board of Education and Shannon Hardin to Columbus City Council. Also in Franklin County, Clinton Township voted to keep Deb Steele as their fiscal officer. A first-time candidate, John McManus, won his campaign for the Dayton Board of Education, and a retired police officer, Anita Davis, will join the Youngstown City Council next year. Finally, we’re still waiting on the results in one race — there is just a 27-vote margin in David Donofrio’s race for Prairie Township Trustee in Franklin County.”

“In Cuyahoga County, Maple Heights City Councilman Richard Trojanksi was elected as president of the council,” said Robert Rivera, president of the Cleveland Stonewall Democrats. “These elections cap off a momentous year for LGBT Democrats in Ohio. In June, Cincinnatian Jim Obergefell won his case at the U.S. Supreme Court to bring marriage equality to all 50 states, including Ohio. Now we’re celebrating electoral victories for LGBT candidates across the state. Finally, we are hopeful that state Representative Nickie Antonio’s Ohio Fairness Act will attract bipartisan support in the legislature. Now is the time for action on this issue.”

“The Ohio Democratic Party was proud to stand with Jim Obergefell and all of our LGBT brothers and sisters in their fight for justice at the Supreme Court,” said Ohio Democratic Party Chairman David Pepper. “However, this fight is far from over. Ohio Democrats will keep pushing for equality in the workplace, in housing and in our society.”