Ohio Democratic Party Statement on Historic Primary Wins for Women Candidates

COLUMBUS — The Ohio Democratic Party and the Ohio Democratic Women’s Caucus released the following statement from Chairman David Pepper and Chairwoman Kathy DiCristofaro on this week’s historic primary wins for Democratic women candidates up and down the ballot:

“Across the country and here in Ohio, this week’s unprecedented primary election results show that Democratic women are leading the charge to fix the GOP culture of corruption in D.C. and Columbus and work for a brighter future for all,” said Pepper. “This year 10 of our 16 congressional candidates and incumbents are women, and more than 50 Democratic women are running for election or re-election to the Statehouse. We have one of the strongest statewide tickets in Ohio history, and our Democratic slate includes state Rep. Kathleen Clyde, our nominee for secretary of state, Judge Melody Stewart, who is running for Ohio Supreme Court, as well as our candidate for lieutenant governor, former Congresswoman Betty Sutton.”

“The Ohio Democratic Women’s Caucus is thrilled to support so many new candidates who were animated by the Women’s March and the Indivisible movement and are now turning their activism into action,” said DiCristofaro. “If we’ve learned anything from the past few years, it’s that having women at the table making important decisions in government, in the boardroom, in academia and elsewhere — it matters. Representation matters for fairness and equality, and women lawmakers are quite often more effective at getting the job done for their constituents.”

In Ohio the following Democratic women are running for Congress:

  • Jill Schiller (OH-2)
  • Congresswoman Joyce Beatty (OH-3)
  • Janet Garrett (OH-4)
  • Shawna Roberts (OH-6)
  • Dr. Vanessa Enoch (OH-8)
  • Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur (OH-9)
  • Theresa Gasper (OH-10)
  • Congresswoman Marcia Fudge (OH-11)
  • Betsy Rader (OH-14)
  • Susan Moran Palmer (OH-16)