Chabot, Davidson, Jordan and Wenstrup Vote Against Disaster Relief Bill

COLUMBUS — On Monday night — one week after a “record-breaking tornado outbreak” struck southwestern Ohiofour Republican House members from Ohio voted against a $19 billion bipartisan disaster relief bill that has President Donald Trump’s “total approval.”

“Even as Ohio is struggling to recover from 15 tornadoes that left a trail of destruction in their wake, Steve Chabot, Warren Davidson, Jim Jordan and Brad Wenstrup all voted no on legislation to provide critical resources for disaster relief — relief that has been stalled for weeks because of Republican antics,” said Ohio Democratic Party Chairman David Pepper. “Disaster relief shouldn’t be a political football, but that’s what Chabot, Davidson, Jordan and Wenstrup have tried to make it. We shouldn’t play partisan games with these funds because even if a disaster relief bill doesn’t directly help Ohio families, the next one might.

“Of course, when it was time to vote for the GOP tax bill that encourages corporations to outsource jobs and will add $1.9 trillion to the national debt over the next decade, Chabot, Davidison, Jordan and Wenstrup all supported that.”